Learning difficulty guidance

Some students have learning difficulties that can make it difficult to take things up, write assignments, take exams, work in groups, or follow instructions given by a teacher. Such difficulties include e.g. reading difficulty, math difficulty, language difficulty, attention deficit, and perceptual difficulty. If you have a documented diagnosis of learning disability, it can be taken into account in different study-related situations, depending on your needs and possibilities. If, on the other hand, you have not yet been diagnosed with a learning disability, but you think you might have one, you can contact FSHS about this.

Table of Contents

Instructions for taking the exam​

  • If possible, the student may, for justified reasons, take the exam in a separate room and be given additional time to complete the exam.
  • If possible, the student may, for justified reasons, write the exam on a computer at the exam session.
  • The student may be offered alternative ways of taking the exam, such as oral examinations. This must be agreed with the teacher in charge of the course.
  • Students have the right to receive feedback on their exam orally. This must be agreed with the teacher in charge of the course.

Guidelines for evaluation

  • When assessing a student’s performance, point credits are not granted due to reading difficulties, but the student’s performance is supported in other ways mentioned in the university’s common guidelines.
  • In the assessment of performance, the main focus is on assessing the quality of the information and not on assessing the appearance of the language.
  • Language courses also give a grade for content, if possible.
  • Any assessment should also take into account the different possibilities for compensation.
    SOURCE: Teacher’s Quality Guide

If you suspect that you may have reading difficulties or some other learning difficulty, you can contact FSHS.

The student (op) (at) lut.fi must be in contact with the student services at least one week before the exam in order to take the exams with special arrangements. In student services, Hanne Muhonen, tel. +358 40 765 5920, hanne.muhonen (at) lut.fi, is responsible for these special arrangements.

Special arrangements for the course are agreed directly with the teacher in charge of the course.

If you know that you have a learning disability, you can also contact the accessibility contact for your degree program, who is the study supervisor or study advisor for your program. He will act as your liaison to your degree program and may, with your permission, liaise with teachers on your behalf. Together with him, you can consider what you need and how best to meet those needs. If necessary, you can also contact Minna Ranta, Head of LUT Student Services.

Contact information for accessibility contacts

Degree Program in Economics:

Kirsti Tiainen (KTK students): 050 322 6469, email: kirsti.tiainen (at) lut.fi

Kaija Huotari (M.Sc. students): 050 322 6436, email: kaija.huotari (at) lut.fi

Study counselors Merilin Juronen: 040 138 0363, email: merilin.juronen (at) lut.fi

Degree Program in Production Management:

Pauliina Talka (M.Sc. students): 040 738 1303, email: pauliina.talka (at) lut.fi

Sini Sarvilahti (PhD students): 040 683 1963, email: sini.sarvilahti (at) lut.fi

Study Advisors Pirita Härkönen: 040 481 4419, email: pirita.harkonen (at) lut.fi

Degree Program in Information Technology:

Pauliina Talka (M.Sc. students): 040 738 1303, email: pauliina.talka (at) lut.fi

Sini Sarvilahti (PhD students): 040 683 1963, email: sini.sarvilahti (at) lut.fi

Study counselors Julia Tasa: 040 484 9759, email: julia.tasa (at) lut.fi

Degree Programs in Mechanical Engineering and Computational Engineering:

Hanna Linnavirta (M.Sc. and PhD students): 050 570 3100, email: hanna.linnavirta (at) lut.fi

Study counselors Teemu Hujanen (home): 05 411 3360, email: teemu.hujanen (at) lut.fi

Study counselors Armi Rissanen (late): 050 520 5111, email: armi.rissanen (at) lut.fi

Degree Program in Chemical Engineering:

Mari Trinidad (M.Sc. and PhD students): 040 766 1710, email: mari.trinidad (at) lut.fi

Study counselors Armi Rissanen: 050 520 5111, email: armi.rissanen (at) lut.fi

Degree Programs in Energy, Environmental and Electrical Engineering:

Marjaana Lehtinen (M.Sc. and PhD students): 040 191 9418, email: marjaana.lehtinen (at) lut.fi

Study counselors Olli Hämäläinen (Ente and others): 044 557 8897, email: olli.hamalainen (at) lut.fi

Study counselors Teemu Hujanen (radius): 050 411 3360, email: teemu.hujanen (at) lut.fi

Language Center:

Riitta Gröhn: (029) 446 3310, email: [email protected]

So who to contact if you have learning difficulties?

  • If you suspect you have a learning disability
    •  Study supervisor or FSHS
  •   If you know you have a learning disability
    • Accessibility contact if you need help informing the training program (e.g. you don’t want to talk to the teacher directly)
    • Teacher when you want to discuss directly the completion of the course with special arrangements
    • Student services when you need special arrangements for the exam
      You can also always contact Minna Ranta, Head of Student Services at LUT (040) 510 0597, minna.ranta (at) lut.fi